In the modern theme park, even the
ancient Towers themselves play a role within the park. In
1957 a model railway, the largest in Great Britain was
installed inside the Towers' Chapel and in the 1970s this was
joined by a planetarium which operated in the central
courtyard of the Towers. Also since the 1970s the Towers ruins
have been open for the public to explore with the roofs
serving as a viewing platform for the rest of the park.
During the 80s and 90s the
entrance hall of the Towers was turned into a gift shop and
first the planetarium and then the Model Railway were removed,
leaving the Towers' ruins devoid of any extra attractions. This is
how they remained until 2000 when the entrance corridor and
part of the conservatories were renovated in order to
accommodate the entrance and exit of Hex: The Legend of the
Towers; a ride which drew on a local legend of a chained oak
in order to create an unique experience.
In 2003 the chapel was once
again filled, this time with Crux an interactive Christian
attraction, which remained at the park for just two seasons.
Fountain Square sits alongside
the main entrance to the Towers, taking up roughly the same
area as the original entrance courtyard for the Towers. During
the 80s the area was know as the Plaza and it served as one of
the stops first for the Tower's Express and then for Sunliner
Trains. It was also home to the Festival Park Dome and Skyride
Station as well as the Railcar Restaurant.